Names of non-tribals voters to be deleted from Chakma Council’s electoral rolls


AIZWAL/KAMALANAGAR, FEB 19: Lawngtlai district level standing committee for Chakma Autonomous District Council (CADC) 2018 elections headed by Lawngtlai DC Dr Arun T has issued an order stating that non-tribal voters will be deleted for the coming council elections.

According to Section 146 (91) (a) of the CADC (CCB) Amendment Rules, 2002, non-tribals are not allowed to exercise their franchise rights in district council elections.

The ninth council will complete its five-year term in April and elections to the 10th council will take place in two months after the end of the current term.

In an emergency session of the district council held on February 9, the members sought an extension of the term of the current council by five months and 23 days.

He said in the last council elections, there were altogether 63 polling stations and five auxiliary polling stations in the council's area. This time, there will be 66 polling stations as three out of five auxiliary polling stations have been elevated to full-fledged polling stations.

Four more auxiliary polling stations would be opened in areas where the number of voters exceeds 1,000, Lalrinawma added.

The CADC is an autonomous council for ethnic Chakma people. It was formed under the Sixth Schedule of the Constitution on April 29, 1972. With an area of 686.25 square kilometers, CADC shares international boundaries with Bangladesh and Myanmar and has a population of 45,307 which roughly constitutes half of the total ethnic Chakma population in Mizoram.

The council exercises legislative, executive and judiciary powers over allotted departments within its territory . It is headquartered at Chawngte or Kamalanagar in south Mizoram's Lawngtlai district. The council has a total of 24 members of whom 20 are elected members and four others are nominated members.

Share it to
  • 164

Leave a Reply

Be the First to Comment!

Notify of